2015 Tour Day One

Greetings from San Francisco! I write to you from our tour bus, which is currently en route to our first high school workshop. Or at least, I’m trying to, but the view is so distracting I keep forgetting to look down.

While this is only our first day of touring, our journey began several days ago. Mostly rested from our two and half weeks of break, we all returned to Princeton for our pre-tour marathon rehearsal on Tuesday. During this time, we not only became reacquainted with the  concert repertoire, we also learned a new closer for the program (Moses Hogan’s incomparable “Elijah Rock”) and a new encore. Though we haven’t sung most of the program for nearly two months now, it was an exciting foretaste of the tour to come, complete with obligatory hijinks and a time to catch up with one another.

Yesterday, we left frigid Princeton for warmer climes. Call it karma, or simply paying my dues, but I landed luggage crew duty along with several others. Thanks to last year’s polar vortex, I was stranded in Chicago and never had to fulfill my duties. But this year, the handful of us slated for day 1 were assisted by a few intrepid volunteers as we loaded and reloaded the tour bus in 19° weather. As unpleasant as that was, it made the unloading in San Francisco seem all the more idyllic after we landed.

After checking in at our hotel (which is perhaps the most decadent place in which I will ever sleep— the lobby looks like a museum and we have a costumed door man) we were free to roam. And by roam, I mean voraciously ingest delicious food. Well-fed and a tad jet lagged, I settled in for a night of excellent sleep.

As I have a mere ten minutes before our first workshop begins, I shall leave you now, but I look forward to bringing you further news from our travels!

About Westminster Choir

Westminster Choir is composed of students at Westminster Choir College of Rider University, a center for music study in Princeton, N.J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

