June 3, 2012

It is Sunday, which obviously means brunch.  The two favorite spots are Toast and Poogan’s Porch (both have mimosa specials, and both have excellent grits).  We had another rehearsal with Dr. Flummerfelt and the Charleston Symphony Chorus this afternoon.  It was fun to get to know these singers who have been part of the festival for so many years, and who bring a human richness to the program.  Dr. Flummerfelt continued to enlighten us to the nature of the pieces we are singing, and we will add the orchestra in a rehearsal tomorrow.

We went to an Intermezzo performance today, which was a voice recital given by two of the principals from Kepler, Leah Wool (a Westminster Choir College alumna) and Matt Boehler.  Their program was eclectic, entertaining, and impeccably sung.  They have been so supportive of the choir by attending our performances, and it was really nice to be able to return the love by helping to fill every seat in the hall.

And now….ladies and gentlemen, here are your Westminster Choir altos.  Ladies, tell us your name, graduation year and major, your favorite Charleston night spot, 3 traits you admire in others, what crayon you would choose to be and why, and your favorite Spoleto memory.

Jewel Aagaard, 2012, MM Voice Pedagogy/Performance
Night Spot: The Gin Joint
3 traits admired in others: kindness, helpfulness and sense of humor
If I were a crayon, I would be turquoise because it is the color of glacial lakes.
Favorite Spoleto memory: Mark pointing too early and giving us all a case of the giggles.

Danielle Danae Callahan, 2012, BM Voice Performance
Night Spot: Pantheon
3 traits admired in others: selflessness, intuitiveness and integrity
If I were a crayon, I would be aquamarine because it is cool and calm but fun.
Favorite Spoleto memory: Going to the beach in the middle of the night – the water was perfect!

Stephanie Council, 2012, MM Choral Conducting
Night Spot: Social and Burns Alley (opposite ends of the spectrum but equally enjoyable)
3 traits admired in others: genuineness, intelligence and grace
If I were a crayon, I would be violet because it is a deep color that can only be made by combining other colors. I am who I am because of the combination of experiences I’ve had thus far in my life. Also, I really love purple.
Favorite Spoleto memory: Our Requiem concert and rehearsals.  I love making music with such talented and special people.

Elizabeth Hermanson, 2013, MM Choral Conducting
Night Spot: Anywhere outside where I can sip beverages and Social
3 traits admired in others: passion, humility and empathy
If I were a crayon, I would be bright red because it is fun and cheerful.
Favorite Spoleto memory: Alisa Weilerstein’s cello playing

Mary Hewlett, 2013, MM Voice Pedagogy/Performance
Night Spot: Anywhere outside!
3 traits admired in others: empathy, humor and extrovertedness (we’re going to pretend that is a word, even if it is not!)
If I were a crayon, I would be Fuzzy Wuzzy because my family used to call me ‘Little Miss Fuzzy Head’.
Favorite Spoleto memory: Making new friends!

Gillian Hurst, 2014, BM Voice Performance
Night Spot: The wooden swings
3 traits admired in others: honesty, loyalty and a great sense of humor
If I were a crayon, I would be Atomic Tangerine because it is a great color for pumpkins, sunsets, and blinding people with awesomeness.
Favorite Spoleto memory: Dinner and singing at the docks

Melissa Maas Richardson, 2012, MM Choral Conducting
Night Spot: Social
3 traits admired in others: integrity, independence and dependability
If I were a crayon, I would be magenta because it is bold.
Favorite Spoleto memory: Gillian playing dead while the director dragged her offstage and she stuck out her tongue.

Jordan Saul, 2013, MM Choral Conducting
Night Spot: Husk
3 traits admired in others: vision, intelligence and humility
If I were a crayon, I would be Forest Green because I love trees and the mysteries of outdoor places.
Favorite Spoleto memory: Reliving wonderful moments and putting them into words for the blog, and the chamber music concerts.

Samantha Scully, 2012, BM Voice Performance
Night Spot: Gin Joint
3 traits admired in others: passionate, curious and insightful
If I were a crayon, I would be Teal because I spend far too much time dreaming.
Favorite Spoleto memory: Walking on stage for scene one of Kepler for our first run.

Lauren Shriver, 2013, MM Voice Performance
Night Spot: Rooftop bar
3 traits admired in others: creativity, passion and determination
If I were a crayon, I would be Pink because it is the most calming of all the colors.
Favorite Spoleto memory: Michelle making shadow puppets on our ceiling at night.  It gave us both the giggles.

Image

2012 Westminster Choir Altos.
Front row: Samantha Scully, Elizabeth Hermanson, Mary Hewlett, Stephanie Council and Jordan Saul
Back row: Danielle Callahan, Lauren Shriver, Gillian Hurst, Melissa Maas Richardson and Jewel Aagaard

About Westminster Choir

Westminster Choir is composed of students at Westminster Choir College of Rider University, a center for music study in Princeton, N.J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

