May 27, 2012

A day off from Kepler, and so it is back to the beach!  Three car-loads of Westminsterites headed out early to Folly Beach in celebration of the Memorial Day weekend.

Image

The pier at Folly Beach.

It was cloudy, even chilly when we first arrived, and the wind really kicked up the sand – it stung our legs as we searched for the perfect spot to lie down.  We sat and read for awhile in the hopes that the weather would clear up, and our patience was rewarded!  The sun broke through occasionally, and it was so fun to splash around in the waves.  There is a tropical storm off the coast, and the undercurrent in the water was really strong, so it was a good workout to continually work back to our original location on the beach.

Image

Johnny Wilson, tenor and Elizabeth Hermanson, alto, at Folly Beach.

A group of us managed to get into the sold-out show Leo.  Another incredible spectacle, this one-man show forces the perspective of the audience in ways I had never seen or imagined.  On one half of the stage is the actor’s area, where the floor is light blue, the side wall is red, and the back wall is dark blue.  One the other half of the stage is a screen where the actor’s area is projected, but tilted so that the red wall is the floor and the side wall is light blue.  The actor then plays with the physical space in a humorous, profound, and physically astonishing way that captivated a packed audience of all ages.

After the show and a stop at the Kickin’ Chicken, it was back to the dorm to continue our LOTR quest.  We are about halfway through the Two Towers.  It is starting to look like Frodo might save Middle Earth before we return to Princeton.

Until then, perhaps you would like to meet the Westminster Choir tenors.  Gentlemen, please tell us your name, your year and major,  your favorite Charleston landmark, what three items you would take to a desert island, what game you would be and why, and your favorite Spoleto memory so far:

Michael Bennett, MM Composition, 2013
Favorite Charleston landmark: East Bay Street Houses
3 items on a desert island: iPod, piano, pre-loaded Kindle
If I were a game, I would be ‘Catchphrase’ because I like words!
Favorite Spoleto memory so far: Folly Beach day!

Ryan Cassel, BM Voice Performance, 2013
Favorite Charleston landmark: Folly Beach
3 items on a desert island: A sailboat, life vests, and food
If I were a game, I would be Tetris because it is the best game in the world.
Favorite Spoleto memory so far: When Dr. Flummerfelt said ‘the supposition, or however you spell it….”

Jeff Cutts, MM Sacred Music, 2013
Favorite Charleston landmark: Sotille Theatre
3 items on a desert island: iPod, Kindle, and a friend
If I were a game, I would be Scrabble because I like words.
Favorite Spoleto memory so far: Rehearsal with Dr. Flummerfelt

John Hudson, MM Choral Conducting, 2013
Favorite Charleston landmark: Plantations with oak and Spanish moss
3 items on a desert island: an espresso machine, Oscar Wilde complete collection, iPhone with Spotify
If I were a game, I would be Apples to Apples because I love sarcasm and wit.
Favorite Spoleto memory so far: Southern cooking!

Brian Krajcik, MM Choral Conducting 2012
Favorite Charleston landmark: Folly Beach
3 items on a desert island: piano, iPod, a friend
If I were a game, I would be Catchphrase because I love thinking under the pressure of a timer.
Favorite Spoleto memory so far: Rehearsal with Dr. Flummerfelt!

Mark Laseter, BM Voice Performance 2014
Favorite Charleston landmark:
3 items on a desert island: Sunscreen, Lisa, and the tandem bike
If I were a game, I would be Jenga because I have many surprising layers, I’m tall, and sometimes I can’t help but shout!
Favorite Spoleto memory so far: Our rehearsal with Dr. Flummerfelt – it was such a powerful and emotional time of music making for me!

Kang Noh Park, MM Voice Performance, 2012
Favorite Charleston landmark: South Battery, Church Street
3 items on a desert island: a tent, food, USS Enterprise
If I were a game, I would be Magic: The Gathering because I always need someone to play with.
Favorite Spoleto memory so far: Every single moment being a proud member of Westminster Choir

Dawan Turner, BA Music, 2012
Favorite Charleston landmark: Don’t have one yet…
3 items on a desert island: toothbrush, Mp3 player, Westminster Choir
If I were a game, I would be the game of ‘Life’  because life is a game.
Favorite Spoleto memory so far:  Jewel asked Brandon if he liked to cook a lot and he heard something different….

Kyle Van Schoonhoven, MM Voice Performance and Pedagogy, 2013
Favorite Charleston landmark: The Battery
3 items on a desert island: iPhone,  sunscreen, refrigerator (I need my snacks)
If I were a game, I would be anything with dragons because they’re dragons.
Favorite Spoleto memory so far: A blood pack exploding in Mark’s mouth

Josh Wanger, BM Voice Performance,  2013
Favorite Charleston landmark: Rainbow Row
3 items on a desert island: Greenhouse, soil, seeds
If I were a game, I would be chess because it is the perfect game.
Favorite Spoleto memory so far: All of the restaurants.

Johnny Wilson, BM Composition, 2013
Favorite Charleston landmark: The Battery/ French Quarter
3 items on a desert island:  tuning fork, surfboard, teddy bear
If I were a game, I would be ‘Tony Hawk: Pro Skateboarder” because I’m a pro skateboarder!
Favorite Spoleto memory so far: Rehearsal with Dr. Flummerfelt

Westminster Choir Tenors
Front: Johnny Wilson, Kang Noh Park
Back: Kyle Van Schoonhoven, Brian Krajcik, Mark Laseter,
Dawan Turner, Ryan Cassel, Michael Bennett, Jeff Cutts,
John Hudson, and Josh Wanger

About Westminster Choir

Westminster Choir is composed of students at Westminster Choir College of Rider University, a center for music study in Princeton, N.J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to May 27, 2012

  1. folkharper says:

    Looks like Dr. Flummerfelt is a winner for the tenors. Food for you guys.

Leave a Reply

