Sunday January 8

We’ve spent a lot of time on the bus – and all I can say is that we’re looking forward to being in Atlanta for three days and not a lot of traveling. Tensions are rising. We all need to get some massages. Luckily however, when we step off the bus we are still friendly and kind to one another and we still appreciate one another. That’s the key to the success of the choir.

We stopped just outside of Birmingham, Alabama and got some lunch. We never made it into the city of Birmingham, but rather a small suburb called Mountain Brook. It was a lovely neighborhood. Lovely homes and wonderful people. The church, which was larger than Westminster, even had a parking garage. The sanctuary was beautiful. The acoustics were just as pleasant.

The performance was moving for both the choir and the audience. It was some of our best singing. It’s amazing how much of an important role the audience plays in a performance. When we feel and see an intellectual and appreciative response from the audience, it encourages us to give our best. And that’s what happened Sunday afternoon. There were many tears. Our encore piece brought a tear to most everyone, singer and listener. I don’t know if I have ever been so moved from a concert. It’s really a pleasure to work with these fine people and I am so honored. The concert was just another reminder of how fortunate we are. As we sang the Lutkin, an alum of the school put his head in his hands and began to weep. Westminster is a wonderful community…even when we’re tired and get on each others nerves at times. Here is the link to the five star review of the concert:

http://www.al.com/entertainment/index.ssf/2012/01/westminster_choir_elizabethans.html

We had a wonderful dinner provided by the church and then our homestays picked us up. Ryan and I had a lovely home to rest in after a long day. I watched the season premiere of Downton Abbey, my favorite television show and then went to bed.

About Westminster Choir

Westminster Choir is composed of students at Westminster Choir College of Rider University, a center for music study in Princeton, N.J.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday January 8

  1. I also wept during the Lutkin. I am an alum from ’91 and ’94, and before the first encore, whispered to myself, “Please not ‘Danny Boy.'” As it was Flumm’s encore for the five years I was in Westminster Choir (and in Spoleto, back when we did both festivals), I knew I wouldn’t make it through it. But after “Shenandoah,” when you began the Lutkin, I actually said out loud, “Oh, no.” The last time I sang that piece was at my master’s degree commencement. I confess I was crying as well. Thank you for a beautiful concert, for stirring my memory (“stirred” was my word, mostly because of the last piece before intermission), and for moving my soul. Westminster will always be my home. You gave Birmingham something very special yesterday.

  2. Thanks for the great blog entry re your concert sponsored by Canterbury UMC and Birmingham-Southern College this past Sunday! Your program was so well done Sunday afternoon, and the review you posted captured it perfectly. It was a delight to have you here and we look forward to a return visit! All best wishes for the conclusion of your tour, from an ardent fan…

Leave a Reply

